Growing to Become your Highest Self: A Brief Guide to the 7 Chakras
I wanted to share with you a quick guide to the 7 chakras and their importance in our lives – a recap of what I have shared over the last several weeks.  Use this as a quick reference, as you chant the mantras for each chakra in your home practice.  May you grow in the light of the Divine to become your highest self!
The Root Chakra
Feeling Safe and Secure in Your LifeThe first chakra, the root chakra, is a dear friend to us!  This chakra is the one that supports us in finding our resources to survive and take action in really difficult situations.We can be grateful we’ve been given this gift!The root chakra is located at the base of the spine.  It’s what supports us in being grounded or rooted upon the Earth. It connects us to the Divine as the root of our being. Once connect to Divine Power it becomes possible to remove the obstacles that get in our way as we live our lives.

It’s the Foundation of Life.  And it’s the Keeper of Beginnings.  The Mother Earth energy within us.

It’s where our instinctual needs reside. Our desire to bring peace, love and happiness to our loved ones.  Our desire to expand into our joy, pleasure, and passion.

We shine brilliantly knowing that we are a spiritual being!  We are safe and secure at our foundation.  We can grow within the eternal Light of the Divine to become our highest self.

The Sacral Chakra
Taking Care of Yourself

The second chakra, the sacral chakra, is located in your lower abdomen, a couple of inches below your navel.  It’s where our emotions reside.

It’s the home to our inner child who has an abundance of bubbling energy and loves to play. It’s where our creativity is birthed and brought into the world.   Where our sexual energy lives.  And where our relationships grow.

Have you ever been with young children when their eyes sparkle with delight over something new?  Soon they’re hopping up and down, smiling ear to ear.

You too probably had similar experiences as a young child.  You can tap into this abundant joy and energy of your inner child to bring forth now into your life.

Find that playful and adventurous side.  You don’t ever lose it in life.  It’s always there.  It just may need a little dusting off and coaxing to see the light of day.

Bring that forth into the birthing of your own creative gifts.  And out of this creativity and joy in life, there’s a flow that forms of giving and receiving.

Creativity.  Love.  Friendship.

……………..supporting you and who you are.

Nurture yourself in being you.  In your unique gifts.

What are you trying to creatively birth right now in your life?  What is bursting with that bubbling energy of a great idea?  And flowing out into the world? That puts that twinkle in your eye and smile on your face?

Nurture yourself in relationship.

Are you able to give and receive love in your relationship with your loved ones?  Do you laugh with them and share your sense of humor?

The Solar Plexus Chakra
Ease the Stress in Your Life

The third chakra, the solar plexus chakra, is located between your navel and the bottom of your sternum.

This is the home to our light that radiates our personal power and strength out into the world.  It’s the awe-inspiring energy of the sun that ignites our power, burning away any blockages that we experience as STRESS that may be getting in our way.

It empowers YOU to be confident, responsible, and reliable…………opening new doors in your life.  It supports you in finding the strength to meet challenges and move forward. To take up action, with a strong will and warmth.

You know that feeling within when you are empowered, powerful, and strong.  You are grounded and ready to enter your day.  You have chosen to make a difference in the world, in proactive ways, not reactive (or even inactive).

The Heart Chakra
Opening Your Heart to Love and Compassion

The fourth chakra, the heart chakra, is located at the center of the chest.  It’s the bridge between the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. It’s related to the element of air.  We can use our breath and movement, within the air, to feel deeply connected with all that is around us, harmoniously exchanging energy with it.

When this chakra is open and balanced, you flow with love, empathy, and compassion.

You accept others and yourself.

You forgive easily.

You are open to love.

The Throat Chakra
Finding the Power within Your Voice

Our words have great power.  Power to heal and power to create anew.  This is at the foundation of the fifth chakra, the throat chakra.

It’s located in the throat area that includes the neck, jaw, shoulders, and also ears.  It’s the source of your speaking, listening, and ability to express yourself authentically.

When your throat chakra is balanced and you speak your truth it’ll be experienced as authentic and compassionate.

You’ll be able to be open and honest.  To stand up for what you believe, yet not be hurtful toward others.

You’ll have a certain sense of personal integrity and of honor.

You’ll also be able to listen deeply to others, giving them an experience of being heard and understood, a profound human need.

The Brow Chakra
Seeing with Your Third Eye

The third eye or brow chakra is in the space between the eyebrows, just a little above on the forehead.  It encompasses the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower brain.

It’s the home to our intuition or inner knowledge that will guide you if you let it.  When opened, it holds the possibility for clairvoyance, telepathy, expanded imagination, and visualization.

The third eye is also the home to our conscience.  Here you’re able to see what’s happening from the perspective of an observer who is mindful.  And you understand what it means – seeing yourself and also the outer world.  You see what’s important and what’s not, what’s meaningful and what’s superfluous.

When it’s in balance you see clearly and understand what you see.  You can perceive and interpret visual cues.  You have perspective on events and ideas.

You’re open to new ideas and can be quietly reflective.  You trust your intuition.  You can control the flow of energy within all of the chakras.

The Crown Chakra
Rising Above 

The seventh chakra, the crown chakra, is what gives us the ability to “rise above” and access higher states of consciousness, as we open to that which is beyond ourselves.

It’s located at the top of the head and slightly above the head. It sits like a crown, opening upwards.  It’s also associated with the brain and the nervous system.

It’s the source of our connection to the divine energy of creation and to our higher self.  Also to the experience that we are one with everyone and everything in nature.  The crown chakra, when open, radiates as a lotus flower with one thousand violet or white petals.

When this chakra is in balance, you’ll feel grounded and connected to the Divine.  You feel unity with the others and the world.  You have a sense of the deeper meaning of life and feel a deep peace… a sense of bliss.  You experience the Divine within you and within the world.