Balance Your Chakras to Feel Energized, Centered and Grounded : simple, everyday activities to balance the root and sacral energy centers

Did you know that the actions you take in your everyday life affect your energy centers? You can choose ones that keep them balanced so that you feel energized, centered and grounded.

Everything in your body is composed of energy and information. Everything moves or vibrates with this energy. This invisible energy is our vital life force that keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive. Chakras are the energy centers within our bodies.

The 7 main chakras, or energy centers, align with the spine starting at the base and moving up to the crown of the head. 

When energy flows to these 7 chakras, it fills the area with the information each chakra needs to perform its unique work. For your body to work at its optimal level, energy and information must be able to travel through these channels easily. 

The 3 lower chakras below the heart include the root, sacral and solar plexus chakras. They are related to earthly matters such as survival and security, sex, creation, strength and power. The fourth chakra, the heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love, connection and compassion. The upper chakras above the heart include the throat, brow and crown chakras. They are related to expressing yourself, clarity of perception, intuition and higher consciousness.

The Root Chakra

The root or base chakra is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine at the pelvic floor. It opens downward toward the Earth and its main function is to support you in being grounded or rooted.  It helps us to have a sense of stability, safety and security in our lives on the Earth.

The root chakra is where your instincts reside and where your basic needs are met. This chakra provides the remarkable ability for you to survive even in extreme conditions in your environment. It enables you to harness courage, resourcefulness and the will to live. 

The root chakra is about feeling connected to Mother Earth, your body, your life, your community, your family. When this chakra is balanced, you feel secure, safe and fearless. You feel courageous and confident to expand into your joy, pleasure, and passion.

Here are 2 simple ways to balance your root chakra in everyday life so your energy flows easily in this center.

1.Get out in nature.

    • Walk barefoot outside. Put your feet in the creek. Walk through the green grass. Sit on a rock and place your bare feet on the ground.
    • Take a walk among tall trees. Listen for the birds. Smell the fresh air.
    • Limited time? Take 5 minutes to go outside your front door. Place your hands on the trunk of a tree and bare feet on the soil.


2. Awaken your sense of touch.

    • Give yourself a massage on your neck, head, hands and feet. Even for 2 minutes during a break in your day! Send yourself love while doing this.
    • Hug a loved one.
    • Take a bath at the end of your day.



The Sacral Chakra

The second chakra, the sacral chakra, is located in your lower abdomen, a couple inches below your navel. It’s where our creativity is birthed and brought into the world.   It’s where our sexual energy lives and our relationships grow. It also holds the energies of addictions and cravings for food, social media, sex, alcohol and more. So, indulging with mindfulness is key, not being too restrictive, yet not being overindulgent.

Being creative and accepting pleasure are both essential for the sacral chakra. Here are 2 simple ways to balance your sacral chakra in everyday life so your energy flows easily in this center.

1.Get creative.

    • Take a creativity break during your day. Dance, sing or draw for 5 minutes.
    • Bring some creativity into one of your meals today. Consider the mix of colors or presentation on a plate. Or try a new recipe.
    • Do something routine in a different way today. Wear a different outfit. Drive a new way to work. Spend your lunch break outside.


2. Accept pleasure.

    • Appreciate the sun on your face or gentle breeze caressing your skin.
    • Savor the taste of your food or drink.
    • Smell the sweet scent of blooming flowers.
    • Linger within a hug or kiss from your beloved.



The actions you take in your life every day can keep your energy centers flowing and balanced. This will help you feel energized, centered and grounded, bringing more joy into your life.

Keep an eye out for my upcoming blog post to discover ways you can balance the next lower chakra, the solar plexus energy center, in everyday life.